Nomination Procedures and Process

The Engagement Scholarship Consortium’s Awards Program provides institutional recognition of excellence in engaged scholarship. Open to all institutions of higher education, the Awards Program was announced in September 2017 at the ESC Annual Conference hosted by Auburn University and ESC members in the Southern region. Awards of excellence of engaged scholarship will recognize exemplary institutional programs in five categories:  Student, Faculty, Community Partner, Distinguished Engaged Scholar, and Institutional Leadership. The Distinguished Engaged Scholar Award is named the Hiram E. Fitzgerald Distinguished Engaged Scholar Award in honor of Hiram “Hi” Fitzgerald,  University Distinguished Professor at Michigan State University, who served as president of ESC and its predecessor, the National Outreach Scholarship Conference. The Institutional Leadership Award is named the Ryan, Moser, Reilly Award recognizing leaders from Pennsylvania State University, Ohio State University, and University of Wisconsin-Extension for their significant contributions to the inaugural meeting of the National Outreach Scholarship Conference.*

Nominations will be accepted through submission forms provided below from January 7 – March 1, 2019. Deadline for electronic submissions is March 1, 2019. Award recipients will be notified by May 1, 2019.

Nominations for the categories of Student, Faculty, and Community Partner will include:

  • Program description
  • The importance of the project in the community
  • Overall relevance
  • Program outcomes and next steps
  • Lessons learned
  • One letter of support describing program outcomes, university/community collaboration, and scholarship contributions

Nominations for the category of Distinguished Engaged Scholar will be made in the form of letters of nomination. Each letter of nomination should describe the nominee's university/community collaborations and her/his contributions to the public good and advancement of scholarship through community engagement across the career span.

Nominations will be reviewed by members of the Engagement Scholarship Consortium.  Award winners will be notified by May 1, 2019.  In addition to participation in the Awards Program Presentation, category winners will be invited to share their exemplary program experiences during a conference panel presentation.

* ESC will begin accepting nominations for the Ryan, Moser, Reilly Institutional Leadership Award in 2021.